Pune: Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi Names Candidates for Maval and Shirur Lok Sabha Seats

Share this News:

Pune, 21st April 2024: It has become evident that there will be a three-way competition in the Maval and Shirur Lok Sabha constituencies. Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi (VBA) declared Madhavi Joshi as their candidate for Maval and Aftab Anwar Maqbool Shaikh for Shirur on Saturday, April 20. The filing of nominations for the Maval and Shirur Lok Sabha Constituencies commenced on Thursday (18th April).


Initially, Vanchit had not named their candidate. Madhavi Joshi from Karjat had shown interest in contesting elections under Sharad Pawar’s NCP. However, due to Maval’s allocation within the Mahavikas Aghadi to the Thackeray group, Joshi opted for VBA and secured the candidacy on Saturday (20th April). This has led to a three-way contest, with current MP Shrirang Barane representing the Mahayuti, former mayor of Pimpri Chinchwad Sanjog Waghere from the Mahavikas Aghadi, and Madhavi Joshi from VBA.


In the Shirur Lok Sabha Constituency, VBA initially announced the candidacy of Mangaldas Bandal, the former Chairman of Pune Zilla Parishad. However, Bandal’s candidacy was revoked after he met with BJP leader and Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, taking an anti-party stance in Baramati following the announcement of his nomination.


Aftab Anwar Maqbool Shaikh has now been nominated as a candidate by Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi. Consequently, there will be a three-way contest in Shirur between NCP’s candidate MP Dr Amol Kolhe, NCP’s Shivajirao Adhalarao Patil, and VBA’s