IPL 2023: Rajasthan Royals Thrashed Sunrisers Hyderabad By 72 Runs On Their Home Ground

Rajasthan Royals Thrashed Sunrisers Hyderabad By 72 Runs On Their Home Ground 
Share this News:

Hyderabad, 2nd April 2023; Indian spin bowler Yuzvendra Chahal showed his spin magic in the IPL 2023 tournament and helped Rajasthan to win the match. Both the teams were playing without some of their key players in this match. In such a situation, there was a big challenge for both teams to start the tournament with a win, which Rajasthan won.


Rajasthan Royals played the first match of IPL 2023 against Sunrisers Hyderabad at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad. Rajasthan Royals won a resounding victory over Sunrisers Hyderabad by 72 runs. Sunrisers Hyderabad won the toss and elected to bowl first. Rajasthan Royals set a target of 204 runs against Sunrisers Hyderabad. However, Hyderabad could score only 131 runs.


Hyderabad got off to a poor start in overcoming a challenge as big as a mountain. They lost two wickets, and Abhishek Sharma and Rahul Tripathi returned without a single run. Trent Boult dealt Hyderabad a double blow by dismissing them in the first over. After this, Yuzvendra Chahal dismissed Harry Brook to give Hyderabad their third blow. Brook scored 13 runs.


After this, Washington Sundar also returned to the pavilion cheaply. Ashwin dismissed Glenn, and opener Mayank Agarwal tried to play from one side but was dismissed for 27 off 23 balls. Chahal took his fourth wicket of the match by dismissing Bhuvneshwar Kumar. After this Abdul Samad and Umran Malik hit some big hits. But the team had to face defeat.


Earlier, Jos Buttler and Yashasvi Jaiswal rattled Rajasthan Royals, who came in to bat first. Both shared a partnership of 85 runs for the first wicket. In the last over of the Powerplay, Jos Buttler returned to the pavilion with 54 off 22 balls. Yashasvi Jaiswal then shared a half-century partnership with captain Sanju Samson.


Yashasvi was dismissed for 54 off 37 balls. After this Devdutt Padikkal was clean-bowled by Umran Malik. Riyan Parag was dismissed for seven runs. Hetmyer and Ashwin put on a 16-run 9-ball partnership for the sixth wicket, which took the Rajasthan team past the 200 mark. For Hyderabad, Natarajan and Farooq got two wickets each, while Umran got one.