Chhatrapati Sambhaji Kings end campaign on a winning note at Shriram Capital Maharashtra Premier League

Share this News:

Pune, June 23, 2003: Skipper Murtaza Trunkwala finished the game off with a helicopter shot, that landed in the stands. Finally, Chhatrapati Sambhaji Kings recorded their first win in the Shriram Capital Maharashtra Premier League (MPL) at the MCA International Stadium in Gahunje on Friday.

The result means that Puneri Bappa will qualify for the playoffs regardless of the outcome of their match against Ratnagiri Jets, who have already qualified. Eagle Nashik Titans and Kolhapur Tuskers are the other two teams who have also reached the playoffs. However, the top four slots will be determined only after the final league game.

On a slow track, CSK restricted Solapur Royals to 140 for 6 in their 20 overs and overhauled the target with 7 balls to spare courtesy of an unbeaten 79-run partnership for the fourth wicket between Trunkwala 67 (53b, 4x4s,3x6s) and Om Bhosale 34 (25b, 3x4s, 1×6).

Coming in to bat at No. 4, with CSK in a spot of bother at 19 for 2, Trunkwala brought in all his experience to the fore. He didn’t take any undue risks, kept the scoreboard ticking and ensured that the required run rate never climbed too high.

Trunkwala rightfully took his side home with two sixes off Pranay Singh’s bowling in the 19th over, with a splendid helicopter shot earning the winning runs.

Solapur’s icon player Vicky Ostwal was the pick of the bowlers with 1 for 17 from his four overs.

Earlier, Opting to bowl first, the CSK bowling unit finally clicked and had Solapur Royals reeling at 15 for 3 with Avdhoot Dandekar 5 (11), Yash Nahar 4 (8b) and Swapnil Fulpagar 3 (5) back in the hut.

Rushabh Rathod 55 (44b, 2x4s, 2x6s) held the Solapur innings together with skipper Vishant More 21 (15b, 2x4s, 1×6), Atharva Kale 23 (26b, 2x4s) and Mehul Patel 22* (11b, 2x4s, 1×6).

Icon player Rajvardhan Hangargekar (1 for 23 in 4 overs) and Shamshuzama Kazi (1 for 23 in 4) were the pick of the bowlers for CSK.

Brief scores: Solapur Royals: 140 for 6 in 20 overs (Rushabh Rathod 55, Atharva Kale 23; Rajvardhan Hangargekar 1-23, Shamshuzama Kazi 1-23) lost to Chhatrapati Sambhaji Kings: 141 for 3 in 18.5 (Murtaza Trunkwala 67*, Om Bhosale 34*; Prathamesh Gawade 2-34, Vicky Ostwal 1-17) by 7 wickets.