CM’ Gang Arrested By Pimpri Chinchwad Police; Stolen Ornaments Worth Rs 19.65 Lakh Recovered

just pune things app
Share this News:

Mubarak Ansari
Pimpri, December 3, 2020: Crime Branch unit 4 officials from Pimpri Chinchwad police have arrested a gang of burglars and recovered valuables worth Rs 19.65 lakh from their possession.

Police Commissioner Krishna Prakash said that the CM’s gang used to carry out burglary in housing societies which did not have security guards and CCTV. He said that eight burglary cases in Pimpri-Chinchwad and one in Pune have been solved with the arrest of the gang members.

Due to the short form of the name of the leader of the gang, Chandrakant Mane alias Anant Mane, this gang was notorious as the ‘CM’ gang. The arrested persons have been identified as Chandrakant alias Anant Mane (27), Raju Shambhu Devnath alias Raju Bengali (20) and Amol alias Bhelya Arun Mali alias Ghuge (27), all residents of Chinchwad and Ram alias Ramjane Laxman Kshirsagar (26) of Wagholi Gaur in Osmanabad.

According to the police, the CM gang had been targeting the housing societies from Pimpri-Chinchwad area from past two to three months. The gang members used to check the premises of the society and make sure that there were no security guards and CCTV.

Acting on information received by policemen Narayan Jadhav and Laxman Adhari, a team led by senior police inspector Prasad Gokule camped in Osmanabad for three days. After a thorough investigation, the police nabbed the accused and seized 381 gram gold, one kg silver ornaments and other valuables, totally worth Rs 19.65 lakh from them. This includes 38 ounces of gold jewellery and 1 kg of silver.

Police officials said that there were 76 cases registered against all the four accused in Pimpri-Chinchwad, Pune city and Pune rural areas. The gang leader Mane was externed from city limit for two years in 2019.

Additional CP Ramnath Pokale, DCP (Crime) Sudhir Hiremath, ACP Rajaram Patil supervised the investigation team which included Assistant Police Inspector Ambrish Deshmukh, ASI Dharmraj Awte, and policemen Praveen Dale, Narayan Jadhav, Sanjay Gaware, Dadabhau Pawar, Adinath Misal, Santosh Aswale, Tushar Shete, Laxman Adhari, Mohammad Gaus Nadaf, Vasudev Munde, Shavarsidh Pandhare, Prashant Said, Sunil Gatte, Tushar Kale, Suresh Jaybhaye, Dhanaji Shinde, Ajinath Ombase, Sukhdev Gawande, Govind Chavan, Nagesh Mali and Rajendra Shete.