Coronavirus: Now Karnataka bans road travel of people from Maharashtra, 4 other states

Support Our Journalism Contribute Now

Bengaluru, May 29, 2020: The Karnataka government has banned vehicles coming from five states given the rising cases of Coronavirus positive patients. Five states include Maharashtra, Gujarat, Tamil Nadu, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan, from where the arrival of vehicles has been banned. Karnataka is the first state to do so from other states.

Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa tweeted, “We hereby clarify that there is no ban on flights and trains to Karnataka. But we have requested the Central govt to restrict the number of flights from high risk states. While entry by road stays prohibited, trains that are already running will continue to do so.” Earlier his cabinet minister had said that flights and trains will also be banned.

However, it is not yet clear how long this moratorium is for. Some states have argued that after the arrival of migrants, there has been an increase in corona cases in their states. 75 new cases of COVID19 patients have been reported in Karnataka after which the total number of infected people in the state has increased to 2,493. The health department gave this information on Thursday.

In the bulletin issued by the department in the afternoon, 47 people have died and 809 people have been discharged from the hospital after treatment. 1,635 people suffering from corona are currently being treated in the state. On Thursday, 28 patients were discharged from the hospital after treatment. Among the 75 new patients of infection reported in the state, 46 are those who have come from the neighboring state of Maharashtra.


Apart from this, six people returned from Tamil Nadu, two returned from Telangana and one each from Kerala and Delhi. One person has traveled to the United Arab Emirates. Udupi has reported the highest number of 27 new cases in the state. This was followed by 13 from Hassan, seven each from Bengaluru Urban and Yadagiri, six each from Chitradurga and Dakshina Kannada, three each from Kalaburgi, Chikkamagaluru and one from Raichur.

Note: This article has been edited to show current stand of the Karnataka on travel of people from other states.

Punekar News is now on Telegram. For the latest Pune, Pimpri Chinchwad PCMC news, Like our Facebook Page, follow on Twitter and Instagram and also subscribe to Punekar News on Telegram.