Double Crown for D.S Ramarao at the Baba Rodrigues and Sons ITF S200 Seniors tennis championships.

Share this News:

Pune, May 7: D.S Rama Rao of Mumbai won a memorable double crown winning the 70plus singles and doubles events at the Baba Rodrigues and Sons ITF S200 Seniors championships which is being played at the MSLTA School of Mhalunge Balewadi Tennis complex


In the Mens Over 70 Singles Finals third seeded Ramarao Dosa upset top seeded Tahir Ali (Ind) 4-6.7-6(5) ,10-8 in a close match . Later on Rama Rao and Tahir Ali teamed up to register a close 6-3,6-7(8) ,10 -7 win over second seeds Ratnakarrao Anne and Dhaval Dhaval Patel


In the Mens Over 55 singe Final useeded Ajay Kamat of Pune out rallied top seeded Alok Bhatnagar 7-5,6-0 to win his first title of the year . In the doubles event Nasik’s Ulhas Fulzele and Paul Varghese outplayed the pair of Kuber Dhondiba Chavare and Kuldeep Singh 6-0,6-1to claim the title in their age group


In the Mens 40 Semifinal Round: top seeded Aditya Khanna got past .Swarandeep Singh Dhodi 6-3-6-3 to set up the summit clash against Pune player Mandar Wakankar who pulled off a 6-2,6-2 win against Kunal Anand ,



The prizes were given away at the hands of MSLTA Hon Secretary Sunder Iyer alon with the sponsor of the event Baba Rodrigues



Following are the scores: Mens 40: Semifinal Round:

Aditya Khanna(Ind) [1] Vs.Swarandeep Singh Dhodi (Ind)[3] 6-3-6-3

Mandar Wakankar(Ind)[4] Vs.Neeraj Anand(Ind)[7] 6-2,6-2


Doubles: Mens 40: Semifinal Round:

Swarandeep Singh Dhodi(Ind) / Aditya Khanna(Ind)[1] bt Ramzan Shaikh(Ind) [3] / Badri Vishal (Ind) 6-3, 6-2;

Kamlesh Shukla (Ind) [2] / Mandar Wakankar (Ind) bt Joy Banerjee(Ind) / Ravi Kothari (Ind) 4-6, 6-1, 10-4;


Mens Over 55: Final:

Ajay Kamat(Ind) bt Alok Bhatnagar (Ind)[1] 7-5,6-0


Mens 55 Doubles Finals

Ulhas Fulzele(Ind)/Paul

Varghese(Ind) bt Kuber Dhondiba Chavare(Ind) / Kuldeep(Singh Ind) 6-0,6-1


Mens Over 70: Final: Ramarao Dosa (Ind) [3] bt Tahir Ali (Ind) [1] 4-6.7-6(5) ,10-8


Mens 70: Doubles Final: Tahir Ali(Ind) / Ramarao Dosa(Ind)[1] bt Ratnakarrao Anne (Ind) [2] / Dhaval Patel(Ind) 6-3,6-7(8) ,10-7.