IND vs AUS: India Clinches ODI Series with Dominant Win Over Australia in 2nd ODI

ind vs aus cricket
Share this News:

Indore, 24th September 2023: In a riveting showdown at Holkar Stadium, India clinched a decisive victory over Australia in the second ODI of the three-match series. Australian captain Steve Smith’s decision to bowl first backfired as India amassed an imposing total of 399 runs. While India’s batsmen put on a stellar performance, Australia’s chase fell well short of the mark.

India’s Batting Prowess

India’s innings opened with Ruturaj Gaikwad, who failed to make a significant impact. In contrast, Shubhman Gill continued his excellent form, scoring a remarkable 104 runs off 97 balls before being caught by Alex Carey off a Cameron Green delivery. Shreyas Iyer also impressed, contributing 105 runs off 90 balls before being dismissed by Matt Short off Sean Abbott’s bowling.

Interim captain KL Rahul added a quick 52 off 38 balls before being bowled by Cameron Green. Ishan Kishan’s valuable cameo of 31 runs off 18 balls ended with a wicket to Adam Zampa. Suryakumar Yadav’s blistering knock of 72 runs off just 37 balls remained unbeaten, helping India reach a colossal 399 runs in 50 overs.

Australia’s Bowling Woes

Cameron Green took 2 wickets but conceded 103 runs in his 10-over spell. Josh Hazlewood, Sean Abbott, and Adam Zampa each claimed a wicket but were also expensive.

Australia’s Failed Chase

Chasing a daunting target of 400 runs, Australia’s opener Matt Short was dismissed early. David Warner’s quick 53 off 39 balls ended with an LBW decision off Ravichandran Ashwin. Steve Smith, the Australian captain, was caught for a golden duck by Shubhman Gill off Prasidh Krishna’s delivery. Rain interrupted play after 9 overs, and the revised DLS target became 317 runs in 33 overs.

Marnus Labuschagne scored 27 runs off 31 balls before being bowled by Ashwin. The middle order—comprising Josh Inglis, Alex Carey, and Cameron Green—failed to make significant contributions. Sean Abbott’s valiant 54 off 36 balls came too late, and he was eventually bowled by Ravindra Jadeja.

India’s Bowling Highlights

Ravichandran Ashwin was the standout Indian bowler, taking 3 crucial wickets in his 6 overs while conceding just 35 runs. Ravindra Jadeja also claimed 3 wickets in 5.2 overs, giving away 42 runs. Prasidh Krishna and Mohammed Shami took 2 and 1 wickets, respectively.

In the end, Australia fell short by 99 runs, failing to reach the revised target. India’s win secured the ODI series, with two consecutive victories setting the stage for a potential clean sweep in the third ODI. Cricket fans are eagerly awaiting the final match to see if Australia can salvage some pride or if India will continue its winning streak.