IPL 2023: Rajasthan Wins By Nine Wickets Against Kolkata; RR Secures Third Position In Points Table

Rajasthan Royals Thrashed Sunrisers Hyderabad By 72 Runs On Their Home Ground 
Share this News:

Kolkata, 11th May 2023: Rajasthan Royals (RR) won the toss and bowled first to restrict Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) to 149 runs at their home ground, Eden Gardens in the 56th match of the season. Rajasthan Royals, who entered the field with a challenge of 150 runs from Kolkata Knight Riders, passed this challenge in 13 overs with one wicket.

Yuzvendra Chahal took the wickets of Nitish Rana (22), Venkatesh lyer (57), Shardur Thakur (1), and Rinku Singh (16). Along with this, Yuzvendra Chahal also became the bowler who took the most wickets in IPL. Venkatesh lyer, who got off to a slow start for KKR, top-scored with 57 runs.

Batting first on their home ground, Trent Boult gave Kolkata Knight Riders two blows in the power play itself. Boult dismissed opener Jason Roy for 10 runs and Rahmanullah Gurbaz for 18 runs. After both the openers returned to the pavilion, KKR could only manage 37 runs in the power play. Venkatesh lyer scored only two runs in 12 balls.

After a slow start in the powerplay, Nitish Rana and Venkatesh lyer put together a 48-run partnership for the third wicket to save KKR’s innings. But this pair was broken by Yuzvendra Chahal. He dismissed Rana for 22 runs. After this, lyer and Andre Russell crossed the 100-run mark in the 13th over. But then KS Asif gave a big blow to KKR by dismissing Russell for 10 runs.

Meanwhile, Venkatesh lyer completes his half-century. But lyer’s 57 runs off 42 balls were picked up by Chahal. At the time of lyer’s dismissal, KKR were 127 for five in 16 overs. lyer was followed by Shardul Thakur who was dismissed for one by Chahal to give KKR their sixth blow.

Chahal gave KKR another big blow by taking the wicket of Rinku Singh (16) in his fourth over. After this, Sandeep Sharma conceded just seven runs in the last over to restrict KKR to 149 for eight wickets in 20 overs.

RR’s Opener Yashasvi Jaiswal did not sit still as he scored 50 runs in just 13 balls. He put on a blistering partnership of 121 runs for the second wicket with captain Sanju Samson. Yashasvi Jaiswal scored an unbeaten 98 off 47 balls. He was well supported by Sanju Samson who scored 48 not out. Both of them made the team win the match by nine wickets and as many as 41 balls.

As Rajasthan won today’s match with 41 balls to spare, their net run rate has increased well. With this victory, they reached the third position in the points table with 12 points in 12 matches. They pushed Mumbai Indians to fourth and Lucknow Super Giants to fifth. Rajasthan’s net run rate is +0.633. So Mumbai’s net run rate is -0.255.