Pune: Krida Prabodhini emerge champions in Bharat Ratna Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Hockey Tournament 2023 trophy

Share this News:

Pune, 2nd July, 2022: Krida Prabodhini laid their hands on the coveted Bharat Ratna Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Hockey Tournament 2023 trophy, at the Major Dhyanchand Hockey Stadium, Nehrunagar, Pimpri on Sunday.

In the final, Krida Prabodhini fought back from an early reverse to down GST & Customs, Pune 4-2.

Early into the game, Aniket Gurav (4th) sounded the boards to put GST & Customs one-up.

Stung by the reverse, Krida Prabodhini staged a comeback with style. First, Mayur Dhanavade (8th) converted a penalty corner to make it 1-1 and helped his team turn in for the half-time on levels.

After the break, Sagar Shingade (35th) gained success off a penalty-corner to help Krida Prabodhini take the lead (2-1).

Two goals in a span of two minutes thereafter by Venkatesh Kenche (45th) and Sachin Rajgade (46th) flattened GST & Customs who could not recover from the huge margin.

Down 1-4 GST & Customs reduced the margin with a late strike by Harish Shingdi (53rd) to end up 2-4.

The third-place was claimed by, Income-Tax, Pune who edged out Central Railway, Pune 3-2 in a match that saw Atharva Kamble (31st) net the winner. Both teams ended the first-half on equals (2-2).

In regulation time, Income-Tax opened the scoring through Chirag Mane (14th). Central Railway were quick to level after Govind Nag (15th) converted a penalty-stroke (1-1)

Ganesh Patil (16th) helped Central Railway take the lead (2-1) for the first time and put pressure on the taxmen.

However, In a span of two minutes fortunes changed as Income-Tax had Tejas Chavan (29th) and Atharva Kamble (31st) score and sign off 3-2.

Krida Prabodhini went home with the top prize of Rs. 20,000, while GST & Customs, Pune claimed Rs. 10000 and Income-Tax, Pune were awarded Rs. 5,000.

Later the prizes were given away by


Final: Krida Prabodhini: (Mayur Dhanavade 8th – p.c; Sagar Shingade 35th – p.c; Venkatesh Kenche 45th; Sachin Rajgade 46th) bt GST & Customs, Pune: 2 (Aniket Gurav 4th; Harish Shingdi 53rd). HT: 1-1

III-Place: Income-Tax, Pune: 3 (Chirag Mane 14th; Tejas Chavan 29th; Atharva Kamble 31st) bt Central Railway, Pune: 2 (Govind Nag 15th – p.s; Ganesh Patil 19th – p.c). HT: 2-2


Best Goalkeeper: Deepesh Choubey (GST & Customs, Pune)

Best Defender: Rahul Sander (Income Tax, Pune)

Best Forward: Venkatesh Kenche (Krida Prabodhini)

Player of the Tournament: Taleb Shaha (GST & Customs, Pune)