Matsuda knocks out seventh seed , Indian pair of. Shrivalli -Vaidehi upset top seeds in doubles at $40000 IWTC ITF world Tennis tour Women’s Championships.

Share this News:

Navi Mumbai December 26, 2023: Misaki Matsuda of Japan upset seventh seed Karina Zaytseva of Russia , while the unseeded Indian pair of. Vaidehi Chaudari and Srivallu Bhamidipathy toppled the top seeded pair at the IWTC-2023 ITF World Tennis Tour $40000 Tournament (Shri Ganesh Naik Initiative) organized by the Navi Mumbai Sports Association in association with Maharashtra State Lawn tennis Association (MSLTA) under the auspices of the ITF , AITA and to be played at the Ganesh Naik Tennis Complex in Vashi

In the singles first round unseeded Misaki Matsuda of Japan upset seventh seeded Ksenia Zaytseva of Russia 6-3, 6-4 to register the first upset of the event. In the biggest upset of the day in the doubles event Indian pair of Shrivalli Rashmikaa Bhamidipaty and /Vaidehi Chaudhari upset the top seeded pair of. Kazakhstan”s Zhibek Kulambayeva and Lithuanian Justina Mikulskyte 7-6(5), 6-2 to enter the quarter finals

It was a bad day for other Indian players in action Japanese Funa Kozaki struggled to get past a fighting Zeel Desai winning 6-1, 6-7(4), 6-2;
Ekaterina Yashina of Russia made short work of local wildcard Harsshali Mandavkar outplaying her 6-1, 6-1. While Greek Fourth seed Sapfo Sakellaridi accounted for Suhitha Maruri with a score line of 6-3, 7-5;

In a close encounter in another doubles match Beatrice Gumulya of Indonesia and Akiko Omae of Japan scraped past a talented pair of Vaishnavi Adkar and Sahaja Yamalapalli 6-1, 2-6, 14-12 . Third seeded Indian pair of Rutuja Bhosale and Prarthana Thombare also Moved into the doubles quarter finals easily

Results: Singles: Main Draw: First Round:
Misaki Matsuda (Jpn) bt Ksenia Zaytseva [7] 6-3, 6-4;
Funa Kozaki (Jpn) bt Zeel Desai (Ind) 6-1, 6-7(4), 6-2;
Ekaterina Yashina (Rus) bt Harsshali Mandavkar (Ind) 6-1, 6-1;
Sapfo Sakellaridi (Gre) [4] bt Suhitha Maruri (Ind) 6-3, 7-5;
Naho Sato (Jpn) bt Anna Sedysheva 6-4, 2-0;

Doubles: First Round:
Shrivalli Rashmikaa Bhamidipaty (Ind) /Vaidehi Chaudhari (Ind) bt Zhibek Kulambayeva (Kaz) / Justina Mikulskyte (Ltu) [1]7-6(5), 6-2;
Beatrice Gumulya (Ina) /Akiko Omae (Jpn) bt Vaishnavi Adkar (Ind) / Sahaja Yamalapalli (Ind) 6-1, 2-6, 14-12;
Kamilla Bartone (Lat) /Ekaterina Makarova bt Snehal Mane (Ind) / Madhurima Sawant (Ind) 6-0, 6-2;
Hiromi Abe (Jpn) /Saki Imamura (Jpn) bt Ekaterina Maklakova /Ekaterina Yashina (Rus) [4]6-4, 3-6, 10-5;
Rutuja Bhosale (Ind) [3] /Prarthana Thombare (Ind) bt Ekaterina Kazionova /Akanksha Nitture (Ind)6-1, 6-3;
Zeel Desai (Ind) /Ksenia Zaytseva bt Nanari Katsumi (Jpn) /Honoka Kobayashi (Jpn)6-1, 4-6, 10-2;
Diana Marcinkevica (Lat) [2] /Sapfo Sakellaridi (Gre) bt Kundali Majgaine (Ind) /Saumya Vig (Ind)6-1, 6-2.