Pimpri Chinchwad Police Bust Inter-State Gang, Fake Currency Notes With Face Value Of Rs 32.67 Lakh Seized

Pimpri Chinchwad Police PCPC
Share this News:

Mubarak Ansari

Nigdi, 12th July 2021: The officials from the Nigdi police station under the Pimpri Chinchwad Police commissionerate have busted an inter-state gang involved in making counterfeit notes. Police have seized counterfeit notes with a face value of Rs 32.67 lakh in the Rs 2000 and 500 denominations. Three people have been arrested from Maharashtra and three from Gujarat.


Acting on a tip-off received by Head Constable Kishor Padher and Naik Ramesh Mawaskar, a team nabbed Gorakh Pawar (30), a native of Solapur district, near crematorium in Ota scheme area in Nigdi on June 23. Police had recovered 293 notes of Rs 2000 denomination with a total face value of Rs 5.86 lakh.


After the State Bank of India (SBI) certified the notes to be fake, an FIR was registered against the accused person.


Police Commissioner Krishna Prakash said, “The investigation was started by Nigdi police on June 24. After that, for 18 consecutive days till July 11, the team searched in Pune, Satara, Mumbai and Gujarat and found 1,402 counterfeit notes with the face value of Rs 32.67 lakh.”

According to police, Pawar’s accomplice Vitthal Gajanan Shewale (38) of Dhebewadi village in Patan taluka of Satara district was arrested and counterfeit notes with a total face value of Rs 3.7 lakh were seized. Jitendra Rankanidhi Panigrahi (36) of Nalasopara East, Vasai, was taken into custody for questioning. Raju alias Ranjit Singh Khatuba Parmar (38), an accomplice from Gujarat, was arrested and counterfeit notes worth Rs 15.93 lakh were seized from him. Parmar said that he had brought fake notes from Jitendra Kumar Natwarbhai Patel (26) and Kiran Kumar Kantilal Patel (38), both residents of Palanpur in Gujarat, and they were also arrested.


The investigation was conducted under the guidance of Commissioner of Police Krishna Prakash, Additional Commissioner Ramnath Pokale, Deputy Commissioner of Police (Zone 1) Manchak Ipper, Assistant Commissioner of Police Dr Sagar Kavade and Senior Police Inspector Ganesh Jawadwad.


The team included Police Inspector (Crime) Krishnadev Kharade, Police Inspector (Cyber) Dr Sanjay Tungar, Assistant Police Inspector Laxman Sonawane, Police Sub-Inspector R B Bamble and police personnel Kishor Padher, Vikram Jagdale, Anand Salvi, Satish Dhole, Raju Jadhav, Vinod Vonmane, Rahul Misal, Vijay Bodke, Ramesh Mavaskar, Bhupendra Chaudhary, Tushar Gengje, Vilas Kekan, Deepak Jadhav, Amol Salunkhe, Vikas Awate and Manisha Patil.



Join our WhatsApp GroupTelegram, and Twitter for every update about Pune and PCMC