Pune: 84 Parks Named Violating PMC Resolution, Citizens Demand Action

Share this News:

Pune, 11th August 2022: According to a resolution of Pune Municipal Corporation (PMC) passed in the year 2000, parks within municipal limits can only be named after national leaders and individuals who have established remarkable work in the field of botany and the environment.

Prime Academy JEE Result

However, according to senior journalist and activist Vinita Deshmukh, nearly 84 parks of the Pune Municipal Corporation (PMC) have been given names that are not in accordance with the resolution.

When a corporator named Salisbury Park after his father, the residents opposed it. A park in Hadapsar was named after Chief Minister Eknath Shinde. However, seeing the citizens’ opposition to this name, the Chief Minister had to withdraw and cancel the inauguration ceremony.

Not considering the locals, leaders have been naming parks after their relatives and other political leaders. Citizens say that the administrative system of the municipal corporation will be responsible for further actions.

inifd kondhwa

“Why should the names of the relatives of the corporators be given to the park with the citizens’ money? In this regard, I met Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, opposition leader Ajit Pawar, MLA Chandrakant Patil, and Sanjay Raut, municipal commissioner, but nothing was received from them except assurances. At present, the administration is doing nothing even though the entire affair is with the municipal administration. In the next fifteen days, we are going to the high court. A show-cause notice has also been sent,” informed the activist.

Parks not compatible with the resolution:


Dhole Patil Road – 3


Yerwada- Kalas – Dhanori – 12


Nagar Road- Vadgaon Sheri – 6


Aundh – Baner – 4


Shivajinagar – Ghole road – 5


Kothrud – Bavdhan – 8


Dhankawadi- Sahakarnagar – 5


Sinhagad Road – 8


Warje- Karvenagar – 9


Hadapsar-Mundhwa – 5


Wanwadi -Ramtekdi – 5


Kondhwa- Yevlewadi – 1


Bhawani Peth – 3


Kasba- Vishrambaugwada – 4


Bibvewadi – 6