Pune: Hadapsar Police Recovers 18 Pistols, 27 Cartridges From 6 Criminals

Hadapsar police

Mehab Qureshi

Pune, September 21, 2020: In a major operation, the sleuths from the Hadapsar Police Station of Pune city Police have busted a gang and seized 18 pistols and 27 live rounds from their possession. Pune City Commissioner Amitabh Gupta congratulated the team for their excellence and efforts.

The accused have been identified as Arbaaz Rashid Khan (21), Kunal Namdev Shejwal alias Yash (19), Jayesh Raju Gaikwad (23) and Sharad Bansi Mallav (21), all residents of Shirur, Suraj Ramesh Chinchane alias Gulya (22) of Ganganagar, Fursungi and Vikas Bhagat Taur alias Maharaj (28) of Yerwada.

A confidential source, who provided information to policeman Nitin Mundhe, gave details about the accused roaming near the Phursungi area during the night with pistols wrapped around their waists. Acting on the tip-off, a team led by Senior Police Inspector Ramesh Sathe, under the guidance of Deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP)Suhas Bawache, laid a trap and arrested the accused persons yesterday.

According to DCP Bawache, 18 pistols and 27 cartridges and a stolen motorbike, totally worth Rs 5.68 lakh, have been seized from the accused persons. Khan is the mastermind of the gang. The accused are criminals on police record and have cases registered against them in the past. “The accused had 18 kattas (countrymade pistol) with them. These pistols were brought for personal use and for selling purposes and most of them were brought from the Madhya Pradesh-Maharashtra border. A judicial magistrate court has remanded the accused persons to six days police custody for further investigation”, said DCP Bawache.

The seizure is highly alarming as the seized weapons are made exactly like the high-end pistols made by authorized arms and ammunition manufacturing companies. “The supply of such weapons across the country could lead to mayhem and disturb law and order situation across the country”, added DCP Bawache.


The action was taken under the guidance of Joint Commissioner of police (law and order) Ravindra Shisve, Additional CP Namdev Chavan, ACP Kalyanrao Vidhate. The investigation team included Police Inspector Humraj Kumbhar, Assistant Police Inspector Sanjay Chavan, Sub-Inspector Saurabh Mane and policemen Yusuf Pathan, Rajesh Navale, Pratap Gaikwad, Saidoba Bhojrav, Vinod Shivle, Nitin Mundhe, Akbar Shaikh, Shashikant Nale, Shahid Shaikh, Prashant Tonpe, Govind Chivale, Amit Kambale, Pravin Uttekar and Narsale.