Pune: Panvel and Chinchwad Crucial Battlegrounds for Shrirang Barne and Sanjog Waghere in Maval Constituency?

Share this News:

Varad Bhatkhande

Maval, 20th April 2024: In the Maval Lok Sabha constituency, which spans across Pune and Raigad districts, there are a total of 25,09,461 voters. Among these, Chinchwad Assembly Constituency boasts the highest number with 5,95,408 voters, followed closely by Panvel with 5,65,915 voters. Collectively, these constituencies represent a significant voter base of 11,61,323 individuals. Their choices hold immense importance in shaping the outcome of the MP election for Maval. Currently, the contenders for the position include the current MP Shrirang Barne from Mahayuti and Sanjog Waghere, former Mayor of Pimpri Chinchwad Municipal Corporation, representing Mahavikas Aghadi.

Breaking down the voter demographics further, Pimpri has 3,64,806 voters, Chinchwad has 5,95,408, Maval has 3,69,534, Panvel has 5,65,915, Karjat has 3,04,523, and Uran has 2,09,461 voters. Within Pimpri, Chinchwad, Maval, Panvel, Karjat, and Uran, there are 13,29,748 voters, while Panvel, Karjat, and Uran have 11,79,713 voters. The three assembly constituencies in Pune district have an additional 1,50,000 voters compared to the three assemblies in Raigad district.

Among the voters, there are 13,10,434 males, 11,98,868 females, and 159 transgenders, totalling 25,09,461 voters. Additionally, there are 24,278 new voters, 22,380 voters aged over 85, and 1,358 voters over 100 years old. To facilitate the voting process, there are 2,562 polling stations, with 1,691 in urban areas and 871 in rural areas.

Special arrangements have been made, including 24 special polling stations in each Assembly Constituency, with one dedicated to women, youth, and disabled individuals, ideally six in each category. A total of 3,594 voting machines and 3,819 VVPATs have been allocated, with over 1,281 polling stations set for webcasting on polling day.

Compared to the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, which had 22,27,633 voters, the 2024 election saw an increase of 2,81,828 voters over the past five years. To ensure a smooth election process, 18,000 employees are deployed, and 50 complaints regarding violations of the code of conduct have been addressed. Measures such as tents for shade and provision of water will be implemented, with priority given to senior citizens, pregnant women, and disabled citizens at polling booths. Electoral Returning Officer Deepak Singla assures transparency throughout the election process.