Pune Police Cracks Murder Mystery After Three Years With The Help Of ‘Surekha’ Tattoo

Share this News:

Mubarak Ansari

Pune, December 22, 2023: A murder case that had remained concealed for nearly three and a half years has finally come to light, thanks to the diligent efforts of the Parvati police station officials. The unidentified body of a woman, adorned with a ‘Surekha’ tattoo on her hand, was found near a derelict water tank on Parvati hill three years ago.

The breakthrough in the investigation has led to the arrest of the accused, identified as 26-year-old Sagar Dadahari Sathe, a resident of Sutardara, Kothrud.

The deceased, named Surekha Santosh Chavan, aged 36 and a resident of Vetalnagar, Sivapurwada, Haveli taluka (Pune district) was found dead on August 17, 2020, on the Parvati Hill. Despite initial investigations and post-mortem, the seriousness of the crime was not adequately addressed. However, the Parvati police revisited the case and sought a final report from the forensic laboratory in November. “Subsequent tests on viscera, blood samples, and DNA samples confirmed the cause of death as murder”, said Senior Police Inspector Jayram Paigude, in-charge of Parvati police station.

He formed four teams to meticulously investigate the crime. The police combed through records of missing women across Maharashtra and discovered a ‘missing’ complaint matching the victim’s description at Khed Shivapur Police Outpost under Rajgad Police Station, filed on December 12, 2020.

Following leads, the police initiated a day and night follow-up, making inquiries with complainant Rohan Chavan, which eventually led to the accused, Sathe. He confessed to the murder, citing a love affair, disputes, and financial motives as the reasons.

VTP Luxe

The investigation team included Senior Inspector Paigude, Police Inspector (Crime) Vijay Khomane, Police Sub-Inspector Chandrakant Kamthe, and police personnel Raju Jadhav, Kundan Shinde, Navnath Bhosale, Prashant Shinde, Dayanand Telange, Anis Tamboli, Amit Surve, Saddam Shaikh, Dnyaneshwar Shinde and Surya Jadhav.