Pune: Vaishnavi Adkar Leads Seed Rout At Gadre Marine MSLTA – ITF Junior Grade-3 U18 Tennis Championships

Share this News:

Pune, 29th November 2021: Maharashtra’s unseeded Vaishnavi Adkar led the charge on the seeds as four seeds were knocked out in round 1 of Gadre Marine MSLTA – ITF Junior Grade-3 U18 tennis Championships organized by Deccan Gymkhana Under the auspices of ITF, Maharashtra State Lawn Tennis Association and Pune Metropolitan District Tennis Association and played at the Deccan Gymkhana Tennis Courts on Monday.

Pune girl Adkar coming back from a strong showing in two previous ITF Junior events at Guwahati and Delhi upset seventh seeded Erkezhan Arystanbekova of Kazakhstan 6-2, 6-2 inside an hour. 

In another match which lasted a record four hours, Arunkumar Lakshmi Prabha upset eight seeded Honoka Umeda of Japan ( 5)6-7, 7-6(4), 6-2 after four hours battle.

 Haryana boys Yuvan Nandal and Rushil Khosla recorded upsets in the boys’ section Nandal upset fourth seeded Aman Dahiya 6-3, 6-2 while Khosla outplayed eight seeded Denim Yadav 6-3, 7-5. It was Nandal’s second victory over Dahiya in last two weeks.

The tournament was inaugurated at the hands of Shri. Siddharth Shirole, MLA, Dr Jaydeep Date, Girish Inamdar, General Secretary of DG, Mihir Kelkar, Finance Secretary of DG, Ashwin Girme, Tennis Secretary of DG, Sameer Kenkare, Nitin Ranade, Sangram Chaphekar and ITF Supervisor Vaishali Shekatkar were present on the occasion.  

Following are the results: First Round(Main Draw):


Woobin Shin (KOR) [1] bt Nikhil Mukherjee (IND) 6-1, 6-2; Aryan Lakshmanan (IND) bt Shingo Masuda (JPN) 6-1, 6-1; Yuvan Nandal (IND) bt Aman Dahiya (IND) [4] 6-3, 6-2; Rushil Khosla (IND) bt Denim Yadav (IND) [8] 6-3, 7-5; Anargha Ganguly (IND) bt Artur Khairutdinov (KAZ) 6-3, 7-5; Daniil Felker (KAZ) bt Parv Nage (IND) 6-0, 5-0 conceded; Daksh Agarwal (IND) bt Aryan Sutar (WC) (IND) 6-1, 6-2; Aayush Bhat (USA) [7] bt Aditya Nandal (IND) 6-3, 6-2; Chirag Duhan (IND) [5] bt Islam Orynbasar (KAZ) 6-3, 6-2;


Nandini Dixit (IND) bt Siddhi Khot (IND) 6-1, 6-1; Arunkumar Lakshmi Prabha (IND) bt Honoka Umeda (JPN) [8] (5)6-7, 7-6(4), 6-2; Shruti Ahlawat (IND) [4] bt Chahana Budhbhatti (IND) 6-1, 6-2; Ruma Gaikaiwari (IND) bt Saina Deshpande (USA) 6-1, 7-5; Shravani Khawale (WC) (IND) bt Samaira Malik (IND) 4-6, 6-2, 6-4; Vaishnavi Adkar (IND) bt Erkezhan Arystanbekova (KAZ) [7] 6-2, 6-2; Suhitha Maruri (IND) [6] bt Anya Jacob (IND) 6-3, 7-5; Rutuja Chaphalkar (USA) bt Radhika Mahajan (WC) (IND) 6-1, 6-1; Gauri Mangaonkar (IND) bt Aarni Reddy Yellu (IND) 4-5, conceded;