Sports: India Triumphs in 5th T20I, Clinches Australia Series 4-1 at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium

Share this News:

Varad Bhatkhande

Bengaluru, 3rd December 2023: Today, the 5th T20I between India and Australia took place at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru, concluding the 5-match T20I series of Australia’s tour of India. India, having already secured the series victory in the previous match with a 20-run win over Australia, continued their winning streak by triumphing in this match by 6 runs. Consequently, India claimed the 5-match T20I series 4-1.

Australia won the toss and opted to bowl, making one change in their lineup with Nathan Ellis replacing Chris Green. On the Indian side, Arshdeep Singh came in for Deepak Chahar. Both captains, Matthew Wade for Australia and Suryakumar Yadav for India, anticipated the impact of dew on the game. The match witnessed a competitive spirit as both teams made strategic changes, ultimately resulting in India’s victory and securing their dominance in the T20I series.

India’s opening pair in the form of Yashasvi Jaiswal and Ruturaj Gaikwad took the field. While Gaikwad showcased excellent form in this series, Jaiswal encountered some struggles. The Indian team had a steady yet slow start, and under the pressure to score quickly, Yashasvi Jaiswal was dismissed for 21 runs off 15 balls. Nathan Ellis executed a composed catch on a delivery by Jason Behrendorff.

Following Jaiswal’s departure, Shreyas Iyer entered the field. However, Gaikwad also faced dismissal in the very next over, scoring 10 runs off 12 balls, caught by Jason Behrendorff due to a mistimed shot on Ben Dwarshuis’s delivery. Interim Captain Suryakumar Yadav took his turn at the crease. India managed only 42 runs for the loss of 2 wickets in the first 6 overs of the powerplay. Despite a strong start in the first match of the series, Suryakumar Yadav struggled in the remainder of the series and was dismissed for 5 runs off 7 balls in this match, caught by Ben McDermott at Point on Ben Dwarshuis’s delivery.

Rinku Singh came in after Suryakumar’s departure. With little momentum, India reached the 50-run mark in the 9th over. While Iyer maintained his momentum, Rinku Singh was dismissed for 6 runs off 8 balls, caught by Tim David on Tanveer Sangha’s delivery. Jitesh Sharma joined Iyer at the crease after Rinku’s dismissal. In the first 10 overs, India managed to score only 61 runs, losing 4 crucial wickets.

Iyer and Jitesh Sharma started building their innings, but Jitesh Sharma was dismissed for 24 runs off 16 balls, caught by Matt Short on a mistimed shot on Aaron Hardie’s delivery. Axar Patel entered the field after Sharma’s dismissal. India reached the 100-run mark in the 15th over. Axar Patel, after a commendable display, was dismissed for 31 runs off 21 balls, caught by Aaron Hardie on Jason Behrendorff’s delivery.

Ravi Bishnoi took the crease after Patel’s departure. Iyer reached his half-century but was soon dismissed for 53 runs off 37 balls, bowled out by Nathan Ellis. Arshdeep Singh came in after Iyer’s dismissal. On the last ball of the Indian innings, Ravi Bishnoi got run out by Josh Philippe when he was batting at 2 runs off 2 balls. Arshdeep remained not out at 2 runs off 2 balls. With India managing to score 45 runs in the death overs, they reached a total of 160 runs in their allotted 20 overs, losing 8 wickets.

In the Australian bowling department, Jason Behrendorff secured 2 wickets in his 4 overs, conceding 38 runs. Ben Dwarshuis also claimed 2 wickets in his 4 overs, yielding 30 runs. Aaron Hardie, Nathan Ellis, and Tanveer Sangha each took 1 wicket in the innings.

Chasing a target of 161 runs, Australia opened with the in-form Travis Head and Josh Philippe, adopting an aggressive approach and gaining momentum. However, Philippe, who was struggling, got dismissed on 4 runs in 4 balls when Mukesh Kumar bowled him out on an inside edge. Ben McDermott entered the crease after Philippe’s dismissal. Head, looking to attack, was bowled out by Ravi Bishnoi on a googly when he was on 28 runs in 18 balls. Aaron Hardie joined the batting lineup after Head’s departure, and Australia scored 50 runs in the first 6 overs.

Hardie was dismissed without making an impact, scoring 6 runs in 10 balls when Shreyas Iyer caught him on Ravi Bishnoi’s delivery. Australia reached the 100-run mark in the 13th over, with Tim David coming in after Hardie’s dismissal. However, David’s aggressive approach led to his dismissal on 17 runs in 17 balls when Avesh Khan caught him on Axar Patel’s delivery. Matt Short replaced David after his dismissal.

McDermott reached his half-century but was dismissed on 54 runs in 36 balls when Rinku Singh caught him on Arshdeep Singh’s bowling. Matthew Wade came in after McDermott’s departure, and Australia needed 37 runs in the last 4 overs. Mukesh Kumar made a significant impact, taking 2 wickets in the 17th over. He first dismissed Matt Short when he was batting at 16 runs in 11 balls, caught by Ruturaj Gaikwad. Ben Dwarshuis followed, but he too was dismissed on a golden duck, bowled out by Mukesh Kumar. Nathan Ellis entered the crease after Dwarshuis’s dismissal.

Seventeen runs were needed in the last 12 balls. With 7 runs in the 19th over, Australia needed 10 runs in the last over. Wade attempted to hit a six but was caught by Shreyas Iyer when he was batting at 22 runs in 15 balls on Arshdeep Singh’s delivery. Jason Behrendorff came in after Wade’s dismissal. Nine runs were needed in the last 2 balls. Australia only managed to score 1 run in the 2nd last ball, virtually securing India’s victory. Nathan Ellis remained not out at 4 runs in 6 balls, and Jason Behrendorff remained not out on 2 runs in 2 balls. At the end of 20 overs, Australia fell short, scoring 154 runs, losing 8 wickets, and consequently losing the match by 6 runs.

From the Indian bowling department, Mukesh Kumar stood out with 3 wickets in his 4 overs, conceding 32 runs. Arshdeep Singh and Ravi Bishnoi contributed with 2 wickets each, while Axar Patel secured 1 wicket.

In the end, India clinched victory in this match by 6 runs, securing a 4-1 win in the 5-match T20I series against Australia. Both teams had been rotating players in this series, managing workload after the ICC ODI Cricket World Cup 2023, where Australia emerged victorious against India in the final. The Indian National Cricket Team is set to embark on their tour to South Africa starting on December 10. Meanwhile, the Australian Men’s cricket team will be facing Pakistan in their home series, commencing on December 14.