WC 2023 – New Zealand’s Daryll Mitchell Shines as Bangladesh Faces Crushing Defeat in Chennai

Share this News:

Varad Bhatkhande

Chennai, 13th October 2023 – In the 11th ODI of the 2023 ICC ODI Cricket World Cup, Bangladesh clashed with New Zealand today at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. New Zealand’s captain, Kane Williamson, made his return to the team after missing the first two official games of the World Cup due to an injury

New Zealand won the toss and opted to field first, setting the stage for what turned out to be a dominant performance. As expected, the favourites, New Zealand, secured victory with an eight-wicket margin and 43 balls to spare.

Bangladesh’s innings got off to a rocky start as opener Liton Das was dismissed for a golden duck. Tanzid Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, and Towhid Hridoy failed to make any substantial impact. Mehidy Hasan made a modest contribution, while Captain Shakib Al Hasan managed to score 40 runs from 51 balls before being caught by Tom Latham off Lockie Ferguson’s delivery. Mushfiqur Rahim added 66 runs to the board from 75 balls before Matt Henry bowled him. Mahmudullah contributed an unbeaten 41 from 49 balls, helping Bangladesh reach a total of 245 runs while losing nine wickets in their allotted 50 overs.

On the bowling front, Lockie Ferguson stood out for New Zealand, claiming three crucial wickets while conceding 49 runs in his 10 overs. Trent Boult and Matt Henry each secured two wickets, while Mitchell Santner and Glenn Phillips grabbed one wicket apiece.

Chasing a target of 246 runs, New Zealand’s in-form opener, Rachin Ravindra, struggled to find his footing. However, Devon Conway continued his fine form, scoring 45 runs from 59 balls before being dismissed lbw by Shakib Al Hasan. Captain Kane Williamson, who had returned from a precautionary injury break, had to retire hurt when he was batting at 78 from 107 balls due to what appeared to be a relapse of his injury. Daryll Mitchell took charge, scoring an impressive 89 not out from 67 balls, guiding New Zealand to victory with eight wickets and 43 balls remaining.

From the Bangladesh bowling lineup, Mustafizur Rahman and Captain Shakib Al Hasan managed to pick up one wicket each.

Tomorrow, cricket fans can look forward to the highly anticipated India vs. Pakistan match at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, set to kick off at 2:00 PM. This fixture is expected to be one of the tournament’s highlights, drawing the attention of cricket enthusiasts worldwide.