Ajit Pawar’s Group Triumphs In Gram Panchayat Elections In Pune District

Share this News:

Baramati, 6th November 2023: Deputy Chief Minister and District Guardian Minister Ajit Pawar’s political supremacy was reaffirmed as he secured the majority of Gram Panchayats in the elections for 231 Gram Panchayats in the district.

These elections marked the first major political contest for the Ajit Pawar-led group after the split in the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP).

Pradeep Gartkar, the district president of the Ajit Pawar group, claimed victory in 158 Gram Panchayats. The election results showcased the strength of various political groups in the district, with BJP securing 19 Gram Panchayats, Congress winning 11, Sharad Pawar’s group securing five, Shiv Sena Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray group and Shiv Sena both winning four Gram Panchayats each, and independents dominating 29 Gram Panchayats.

Ajit Pawar’s group dominated 30 out of 32 Gram Panchayats in Baramati taluka, with BJP winning the remaining two. In Ambegaon, Ajit Pawar’s group secured power in 25 out of 30 Gram Panchayats, while Shiv Sena won in two, and independents succeeded in three Gram Panchayats. In Bhor, Ajit Pawar’s group captured power in nine out of 27 Gram Panchayats, Congress claimed eight, independents won nine, and one seat remained vacant. Ajit Pawar’s group also secured victories in most Gram Panchayats in Junnar, with BJP winning two, and independents taking four. In Khed taluka, Ajit Pawar’s group claimed victory in 24 out of 25 Gram Panchayats, and BJP secured one seat.

In Mulshi taluka, Ajit Pawar’s group secured 12 out of 23 Gram Panchayats, while Sharad Pawar’s group and Shiv Sena’s Thackeray group each won four, and independents captured three Gram Panchayats. In Maval, Ajit Pawar’s group claimed 13 out of 19 Gram Panchayats, with BJP winning six in Purandar taluka. Ajit Pawar’s group secured five out of 15 seats, Congress claimed three, Shiv Sena won two, and independents dominated five Gram Panchayats, with Sharad Pawar’s group winning one and two going to independents. In Indapur, Ajit Pawar’s group secured five out of six Gram Panchayats, while BJP claimed one. In Velhe taluka, Ajit Pawar’s group captured four out of six Gram Panchayats, while BJP and independents each secured one.

The Gram Panchayat elections heavily focused on Baramati taluka, with Ajit Pawar’s group dominating 32 Gram Panchayats. However, the BJP made inroads into Baramati taluka, securing two Gram Panchayats. Dilip Mohite-Patil and Dilip Valse-Patil also displayed their political influence by winning the Gram Panchayat elections in Khed and Ambegaon talukas.