Maharashtra Deputy CM Ajit Pawar Vows Support for Digital Media Welfare at Kolhapur Conference

Share this News:

Kolhapur, 30th January 2024: Deputy Chief Minister of Maharashtra, Ajit Pawar, expressed his commitment to supporting the welfare of journalists in the digital media sector. Speaking at the General Conference of the Digital Journalists Association of India in Kolhapur, Pawar assured that he would grant royal recognition to digital media, similar to print media, for their social welfare contributions.

Pawar highlighted the essential role played by both print and digital media in upholding democracy and emphasized the need for journalists to work for social welfare and justice. He pledged his support for the welfare of journalists by providing independent status to the digital media sector.

The conference saw the participation of around two thousand editors, journalists, and representatives from the digital media sector across Maharashtra. Discussions focused on the challenges and opportunities faced by digital media professionals.

Minister of Higher and Technical Education of Maharashtra Chandrakant Patil, appreciated the contribution of the State President of the Digital Journalists Association Of India Raja Mane, through print and digital media. He proposed the establishment of a welfare corporation to ensure financial provision for journalists, a move aimed at bringing justice to the profession.

The Digital Star and Mahagaurav Awards were presented to individuals for outstanding contributions in various fields. Notable awardees include Varsha Lanjewar, Prof. Shivraj Motegaonkar, Tukaram Kundakure, Vikas Thorat, Vidya Pol, Dr. Priya Shinde, Dr. Aruna Burge, Nikhil Wagh, Bharti Chavan, Praveen Mali, Shashikant Dhotre, Dr. Rahul Kadam, Prakash Avtade, and Nalini Gaikwad.

A seminar was organized to inform editors and journalists about new technologies in the digital media domain. Dr Nisha Mude-Pawar, Dr Rajendra Parijat, Mohsin Mulla, and Dr Nandkumar Sutar provided extensive guidance. State organizer Pramod Todkar presented 11 resolutions aimed at addressing the needs of journalists, and these were unanimously approved.

The convention’s success was credited to the meticulous planning by the office bearers and members of the Kolhapur district of the Digital Journalists Association Of India. The efforts of Maharashtra state and Kolhapur District Office Bearers, including Shamal Khairnar, Ketan Mahamuni, Amit Ingole, Suryakant Waykar, and others, were acknowledged.

The conference concluded with Suhas Patil, Kolhapur District President, introducing the program, and Bhausaheb Phaske, Kolhapur District Vice President, proposing the vote of thanks. The state executive members played a crucial role in the success of the event. The conference aimed to address the challenges faced by digital media professionals and enhance their welfare.