Pune District Leads Maharashtra with Over 82 Lakh Voters in Lok Sabha Elections

Share this News:

Mumbai, 11th April 2024: In the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, a significant voter base of approximately 9.25 crore individuals across 48 constituencies in Maharashtra will exercise their democratic rights. Pune district stands out as the frontrunner in terms of sheer voter numbers within the state, boasting the highest count among all districts. Notably, in four districts—Nandurbar, Gondia, Ratnagiri, and Sindhudurg—the female voter populace surpasses the male counterpart.

With Pune alone accounting for over 82 lakh voters, the electoral landscape unfolds with Mumbai suburbs following closely behind, tallying 73 lakh 56 thousand voters. Thane records a substantial voter count of 65 lakh 79 thousand, while Nashik district and Nagpur register 48 lakh 08 thousand and 42 lakh 72 thousand voters respectively.

In four districts, female voters outnumber male voters. Ratnagiri boasts a total of 13,03,939 voters, with 6,31,012 males and 6,72,916 females. Similarly, Nandurbar has 12,76,941 voters, with 6,37,609 males and 6,39,320 females. Gondia follows suit, with 10,92,546 voters, of which 5,41,272 are males and 5,51,264 are females. Furthermore, in Sindhudurg, out of 6,62,745 voters, 3,30,719 are males and 3,32,025 are females.

The electoral process in the state is gearing up for five phases of polling on April 19, April 26, May 7, May 13, and May 20. As of April 8, 2024, the state has a total of 92,491,806 registered voters, including 48,081,638 males, 44,404,551 females, and 5,617 third-party voters.

Five districts, namely Ahmednagar, Solapur, Jalgaon, Kolhapur, and Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar boast a significant voter base, each exceeding 30 lakh voters. Ahmednagar stands at 36,47,252 voters, followed closely by Solapur with 36,47,141 voters. Jalgaon counts 35,22,289 voters, while Kolhapur and Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar have 31,72,797 and 30,48,445 voters, respectively.

Additionally, ten districts, including Buldhana, Amravati, Yavatmal, Nanded, Raigad, Mumbai City, Beed, Satara, Sangli, and Palghar, have a substantial voter turnout, each exceeding 20 lakh voters.