Pune: Manipur Hockey Rain Goals On Opening Day Of 11th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship Pimpri Chinchwad 2021 

manipur hockey
Share this News:

Pune, 11th December 2021: Manipur Hockey scored at will to set a record of sorts and ended up recording a 21-0 victory over their north-eastern neighbours Tripura Hockey on a day when goals were aplenty at the 11th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship Pimpri Chinchwad 2021 at the Major Dhyanchand Hockey Stadium, Nehrunagar-Pimpri.

The day overall was all about counting goals with the morning session logging 39 goals from 3 matches. Later in the afternoon session, 35 goals were scored in 2 games after Manipur Hockey went on a goal riot.

At the end of the day, 74 goals came from 5 matches played.  

Hockey Karnataka, Le Puducherry, Hockey Punjab and Hockey Chandigarh were the other big-score winners on the opening day.

karnataka hockey

In other matches, Hockey Andhra Pradesh earned full points after Hockey Andaman and Nicobar went through the motion of officially forfeiting their match with a no show for the Championship.

In Group-C, Hockey Karnataka began the day with a 14-0 win over Hockey Jammu and Kashmir.

Hockey Karnataka had nine players account for their scoreline. Mohd Raheel (2nd) gave the Southern side the lead and likewise became the first scorer of the 2021 edition. Thereafter, Hockey Karnataka opened the floodgates with Mohd Raheel (14th); Somanna BP (4th, 47th); Punith R (20th, 55th); Bharath KR (23rd, 30th); S Deekshith P (27th); Chiranth Somanna N.D (42nd); Likhith BM (43rd, 60th); Kumar Yashith B (52nd); Shamanth CS (60th) scoring. Hockey Karnataka led 7-0 at half time.  

Next up, Le Puducherry downed first-timers Hockey Arunachal Pradesh by a 14-0 scoreline. Le Puducherry led by Arun T Kumar (1st, 3rd, 25th, 35th) and Veerathamizhan V (10th, 43rd, 56th, 58th) had it easy against Hockey Arunachal Pradesh.


Goals by A Tamilarasan (12th), R Ranjith (12th, 22nd, 42nd), Pooviyarasan (23rd), Sellamuthu N 34th) completed the tally.

The big moment of the day was when Hockey Punjab took on Hockey Uttrakhand and walked out 11-0 winners in a Group-D match.

With the presence of 2020 Tokyo Olympian Rupinder Pal Singh all eyes were on the star drag-flicker to make an impact. However, it was off a penalty-stroke that he made his mark in the 50th minute of play.

Hockey Punjab went about their match with ease with Lovepreet Jainth (4th, 46th, 56th, 58th) leading with four-goals. Paramjeet Singh (6th), Sudarshan Singh (7th, 18th), Vishal Yadav (21st), Singh Gurshahzad Pirzada (30th), Gautam Kumar (35th) added to the tally.

punjab hockey

The afternoon session continued with high scores being logged.

In Group-E, Hockey Chandigarh scored a 14-0 verdict over Hockey Rajasthan. Three-goal efforts by (Mohit 6th, 42nd, 55th) and Amandeep (23rd, 25th, 57th) proved to be the high-point of the match.

Adding goals were Rajveen Singh (12th), Bir Angad Singh (14th, 28th), Harpreet Singh (14th, 39th), Harmanpreet Singh (21st), Yograj Singh (35th) and Jaspreet Singh (37th).

In the last match of the day, Hockey Manipur recorded the top score of the day downing Tripura Hockey 21-0 in Group-E.


Pool-C: Hockey Karnataka: 14 (Mohd Raheel 2nd, 14th; Somanna BP 4th, 47th; Punith R 20th, 55th; Bharath KR 23rd, 30th; S Deekshith P 27th; Chiranth Somanna N.D 42nd; Likhith BM 43rd, 60th; Kumar Yashith B 52nd; Shamanth CS 60th) bt Hockey Jammu and Kashmir: 0. HT: 7-0

Pool-C: Le Puducherry: 14 (Arun T Kumar 1st, 3rd, 25th, 35th; Veerathamizhan V 10th, 43rd, 56th, 58th; A Tamilarasan 12th, R Ranjith 12th, 22nd, 42nd, Pooviyarasan 23rd, Sellamuthu N 34th) bt Hockey Arunachal: 0. HT: 8-0

Pool-D: Hockey Punjab: 11 (Lovepreet Jainth 4th, 46th, 56th, 58th; Paramjeet Singh 6th; Sudarshan Singh 7th, 18th; Vishal Yadav 21st; Singh Gurshahzad Pirzada 30th; Gautam Kumar 35th; Rupinder Pal Singh 50th) bt Hockey Uttarakhand: 0. HT: 6-0

Pool-D: Hockey Andhra Pradesh bt Hockey Andaman and Nicobar – 5-0 Match forfeited

chandigarh hockey

Pool-E: Hockey Chandigarh: 14 (Mohit 6th, 42nd, 55th, Rajveen Singh 12th, Bir Angad Singh 14th, 28th, Harpreet Singh 14th, 39th, Harmanpreet Singh 21st, Amandeep 23rd, 25th, 57th; Yograj Singh 35th, Jaspreet Singh 37th) bt Hockey Rajasthan: 0HT: 8-0

Pool-E: Manipur Hockey: 21 (Mantosh Laishram Meitei 2nd, 9th, 13th, 17th; Abung Ningombam Singh 4th, 33rd; Ibungo Konjengban Singh 10th; Rohit Keisham Meitei 26th, 28th; Dinachandra Moirangthem Singh 35th, 53rd, 56th, 59th; Debeshor Konjengbam Singh 37th; Dayananda Chanamthabam Singh 41st; Bhakar Ningombam 45th, 47th, 48th, 53rd; Dollar Kshetrimayum 51th; Romeshkumar Heisnam Singh 60th) bt Tripura Hockey: 0. HT: 8-0  

Join Punekar News Whatsapp GroupTelegramInstagram And Twitter For Regular Update about Pune City And Pimpri-Chinchwad


pune eat outs

To Download PEO Privilege App on this link  https://t6kq7.app.goo.gl/zpka