UGC Declares Default List of Universities for Not Appointing Ombudsman; 18 from Maharashtra

Share this News:

Pune, 19th January 2024: The University Grants Commission (UGC) has taken a stern stance by including 421 universities in the default list for failing to appoint an ombudsman to address student complaints. Notably, this list encompasses 18 universities from Maharashtra. Despite the UGC’s prior warning and the stipulated deadline of December 31, these universities failed to adhere to the regulations.

On Wednesday evening, UGC Secretary Professor Manish Joshi unveiled the list, featuring 256 state universities, the lone central university being North-Eastern Hills University in Shillong, 162 private universities, and two deemed-to-be universities. Most state universities from Maharashtra found a place in the default list, with the exception of Savitribai Phule Pune University and Mumbai University.

The following Maharashtra universities are among those listed:

1. International Sports University, Balewadi, Pune
2. Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Technological University, Raigad
3. Dr. Homi Bhabha State University, Mumbai
4. Gondwana University, Gadchiroli
5. Hyderabad National Collegiate University, Worli
6. Konkan Agricultural University, Dapoli
7. Maharashtra University of Health and Science, Nashik
8. Maharashtra Animal and Fishery Science University, Nagpur
9. Maharashtra National Law University, Mumbai
10. Maharashtra National Law University, Nagpur
11. Mahatma Agricultural University, Rahuri
12. Maharashtra Agricultural University, Parbhani
13. Punyashlok Ahilya Devi Holkar Solapur University
14. Sant Gadge Baba Amravati University, Amravati
15. Smt. Nathibai Damodar Thackeray Women’s University, Mumbai
16. Swami Ramanand Tirtha Marathwada University, Nanded
17. Yashwantrao Chavan Open University, Nashik

In addition to Maharashtra, the default list encompasses universities from various states, including UP, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Jammu and Kashmir, and Punjab.

Some renowned institutions on the list include the Morarji Desai National Institute of Yoga in Delhi and the National Dairy Research Institute in Karnal, Haryana. Uttar Pradesh has 27 institutions on the list, while Uttarakhand has 9. Delhi is represented by four universities, including Delhi Sports University, Delhi Teachers University, Indira Gandhi Delhi Technical University for Women, and Dr. B. R. Ambedkar University.