Wakad police rescues 5 yr old boy kidnapped for Rs 5 lakhs ransom

Share this News:

Sumit Singh

Wakad, November 8, 2018 : Four days after a five year old boy was kidnapped for ransom of Rs five lakhs from Kunal Residency in Thergaon, officials from Wakad police station and Crime Branch, Pimpri-Chinchwad, rescued him successfully on Wednesday. Two accused persons arrested have been identified as Shahrukh Miraj Khan of Walhekarwadi and his employee Mohammad Shakil Khan of Mumbai.


The kidnapped boy Sufian Khan was taken to Lonavala, Vasai-Virar after being kidnapped on Sunday. Addressing a press conference on Thursday, additional commissioner of police Makrand Ranade said that two days after the kidnapping the boy’s mother had received call from accused who demanded ransom of Rs five lakhs to release the boy.


Police officials said that the accused Shahrukh has Biryani shop near beauty parlour of Sufian’s mother at Kunal Residency. He was acquainted with Sufian. His mother had given monetary help to Sufian in the past. He was demanding more money to pay his debt and also for marriage of his brother. After she refused to give him more money, Shahrukh planned the kidnapping.


When Sufian was playing in his society’s parking area on Sunday, Shahrukh took him away on bike. After Sufian did not return home, his family members searched for him and then lodged a complaint with Wakad police station. Add CP Ranade said that his family members and police were clueless for two days till the kidnapper called Sufian’s mother for Rs five lakhs ransom.


About 60 police officers and personnel from Wakad police and Crime Branch were roped in to rescue the child. The kidnapper was called to Chinchwad on Wednesday to take the ransom money. Police officials were dressed in various attires and laid a trap and nabbed the accused. The child was successfully rescued.


Investigation team included senior police inspector Satish Mane, in-charge of Wakad police station, Police sub inspector Harish Mane, and policemen Dattatray Sansas, Bibhshan Kanherkar, Ramesh Gaikwad, Pramod Bhandarkar and Madhukar Chavan.