Bharat Asmita National Awards-2022 conferred to, Mani Ratnam, Sankar Mahadevan, Dr Krishna Ella, Gaurav Gogoi, Prof. Kavil Ramchandran, Shereen Bhan

Share this News:

Pune, January 29, 2022: The 18th Bharat Asmita National Awards were conferred by MIT World Peace University, Pune, Bharat Asmita Foundation and MIT School of Government, Pune. The award felicitation ceremony will take place online on February 3, 2022.

“The awards will be given to Shereen Bhan, noted Journalist, anchor and managing editor, CNBC-TV18, Mani Ratnam, Indian film director, Shankar Mahadevan – Padma Shri, acclaimed music composer and singer Prof. Kavil Ramachandran, Professor of Entrepreneurship (Practice) and Senior Advisor Thomas Schmidheiny Centre for Family Enterprise, Indian School of Business, Dr Krishna Ella – Chairman & Managing Director, Bharat Biotech International Limited, Gaurav Gogoi, Deputy Leader, Indian National Congress, Lok Sabha Hon’ble Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha (INC, Kaliabor, Assam),” said Rahul V Karad – Executive President, MIT World Peace University.

It will be the 18th year where MIT group will be honouring personalities who have contributed prominently to the country. Honouring these personalities will inspire youth to take forward their legacy.

The award consists of a citation of honour, memento and cash reward of Rs. One lakh twenty-five thousand each. The awardees will be honored by Dr Raghunath Mashelkar – World famous Senior Scientist and Dr Vijay Bhatkar – World Famous Computer Scientist and Chancellor of Nalanda University, Smt. Ritu Prakash Chhabria – Co-founder & Managing Trustee, Mukul Madhav Foundation, Dr Vishwanath D Karad – UNSECO Chair Holder, Founder President, MIT World Peace University.


The list of awardees are as follows

Best teacher in management: Prof. Kavil Ramachandran

Best use of mass media/NGO: Shereen Bhan

Best use of Acting/ Direction: Mani Ratnam

Best use of Lyrics/ Music/Singing: Sankar Mahadevan

Best use of Science and Technology through innovation: Dr Krishna Ella

Best young exponent of parliamentary practices: Gaurav Gogoi

******Additional information

Best use of mass media (Bharat Asmita Jana Jagaran Shreshta)/NGO: Shereen Bhan

Shereen Bhan is a Noted Indian Business Journalist and is currently working as the Managing Editor and Anchor at CNBC-TV18 News Channel. She has over 20 years of experience in the field of Television Broadcast, tracking corporate, policy news and events that defined the business landscape in India. Shereen Bhan was named a ‘Young Global Leader’ by the World Economic Forum.

Best use of Acting/ Direction (Bharat Asmita Jana Jagaran Shreshta): Mani Ratnam

Mani Ratnam along with Bollywood has a rich contribution to the Tamil film industry, he is known for his multilevel skills may it be music, visuals or characterization. Ratnam has won six National Film Awards, four Filmfare Awards, six Filmfare Awards in South, and numerous awards at various film festivals across the world. In 2002, the Government of India honoured him with the Padma Shri, acknowledging his contributions to film.

Best use of Lyrics/ Music/Singing (Bharat Asmita Jana Jagaran Shreshta): Sankar Mahadevan

Shankar Mahadevan is one of the most acclaimed musicians in the Indian film industry. People remember Shankar Mahadevan for Breathless, an entire song sung in one breath. Shankar Mahadevan has been felicitated with several prestigious awards, like the National Film Award for Best Male Playback Singer for the song Maa from Taare Zameen Par, Lata Mangeshkar Award by Government of Andhra Pradesh and Padma Shri Award for his contributions to Film Music under the category Arts.

Best use of Science and technology through innovation (Bharat Asmita Vigyaan – Tantragyaan Shreshtha): Dr Krishna Ella

Dr. Ella ensured that Bharat Biotech successfully delivered COVAXIN™, India’s 1st indigenous vaccine against COVID-19 while continuing work on 2 other novel COVID-19 vaccine candidates. It is also the only company from the developing world to have carried out over 90 clinical trials in more than 7,00,000 volunteers in over 20 countries.

The best young exponent of parliamentary practices (Bharat Asmita Jana Pratinidhi Shreshta): Gaurav Gogoi

Gaurav Gogoi is a young leader from the state of Assam in North-East India presently serving his second term as a Member of Parliament. On the Party front, he serves as the in-charge of West Bengal, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Manipur and Sikkim from All India Congress Committee (AICC) and Member of Congress Working Committee (CWC).

Best teacher in management (Bharat Asmita Acharya Shreshta): Prof. Kavil Ramachandran

Prof. Kavil Ramachandran is widely known for his academic and institution-building initiatives on entrepreneurship and family business fronts and until recently served as the Executive Director of the Thomas Schmidheiny Centre for Family Enterprise at the Indian School of Business. He has been a Professor of Family Business, Entrepreneurship and Strategy and has 36 years of combined experience as an academic at the ISB and the Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad.