Pune: Easy outing for top seeds in Pre-quarters at the Gadre Marine MSLTA – ITF Junior Grade-3 U18 tennis Championships

Share this News:

Pune, 30th November 2021: Top seed in girls Aruzhan Sagandikova from Kazakhstan and top seed from Boys Woobin Shin from Korea had an easy passage to quarterfinals of Gadre Marine MSLTA – ITF Junior Grade-3 U18 tennis Championships organized by Deccan Gymkhana Under the auspices of ITF, Maharashtra State Lawn Tennis Association and Pune Metropolitan District Tennis Association and played today at the Deccan Gymkhana Tennis Courts.

Sagandikova defeated Gauri Mangaonkar 6-0, 6-0 while Shin outplayed Aryan Lakshmanan 6-2, 6-3.

For Indians, it turned out to be a decent day, as out of 15 players who were on courts, 7 excelled to move into the quarter-finals.

In girls, Vaishnavi Adkar, Lakshmi Arunkumar Prabha, Shruti Ahlawat and Sunitha Maruri won their respective matches. In boys, Yuvan Nandal, Rushil Khosla and Bushan Haobam registered victories.

Haobam played the longest match of the day as he took 3 hours and 30 minutes to overcome fifth seeded Chirag Duhan 6-4, 3-6, 7-6 (7-4). Haobam who shifted his base from Manipur to Delhi in October is playing his second tournament of the season.

“Recently in ITF Grade 4 tournament in Delhi, I was outplayed in second round. After the covid pandemic gap, I am making come back. Today I enjoyed playing on fast courts of Deccan Gymkhana,” said Haobam who is training at National Tennis Centre, New Delhi under coach Zeeshan Ali and Arun.

“Earlier I used to train in Manipur, but I had to shift my base as I did not have a hitting partner after covid. My coach from Manipur- Brojen Toijam also shifted his base to Guwahati as there were no tennis players in Manipur,” added 15-year-old Baoham who was taught tennis by his grandfather when he was 7 year old.

In 2019, Baoham had won under-16 National Series in Navi Mumbai which is the biggest win of career so far.

Following are the results: Girls: Pre-quarterfinal Round:

Aruzhan Sagandikova (KAZ) [1] bt Gauri Mangaonkar(IND) 6-0, 6-0;

Arunkumar Lakshmi Prabha(IND) bt Nandini Dixit (IND) 6-2, 6-4;

Shruti Ahlawat (IND) [4] bt Ruma Gaikaiwari(IND) 6-0, 6-4;

Vaishnavi Adkar(IND) bt Shravani Khawale(IND) 6-0, 6-0;

Suhitha Maruri (IND) [6] bt Rutuja Chaphalkar(USA) 6-2, 4-6, 7-5;

Sara Saito (JPN) [3] bt Tejasvi Dabas (IND) 6-1, 6-2; 

Zhanel Rustemova (KAZ) [5] bt Khushali Modi(IND) 6-2, 6-1;

Yu-Yun LI (TPE) [2] bt Lakshmi Gowda(IND) 6-2, 6-0;


Woobin Shin(KOR)[1] bt Aryan Lakshmanan(IND) 6-2, 6-3;

Rushil Khosla(IND) bt Anargha Ganguly (IND) 6-3, 6-3;

Yuvan Nandal (IND) bt Daniil Felker(KAZ)6-4, 2-6, 6-4;

Aayush Bhat(USA)[7] bt Daksh Agarwal(IND)6-2, 6-4;

Bushan Haobam(IND) bt Chirag Duhan(IND)[5] 6-4, 3-6, 7-6(4);

Tanapatt Nirundorn(THA)[3] bt Rethin Pranav Senthil Kumar (IND) 6-2, 6-3;

Max Batyutenko (KAZ) [6] bt Akarsh Gaonkar(IND) 6-0, 6-1;

So Ogiri (JPN) bt Devaharshith Neelam (USA) 7-5, 6-2.